Scam Alert: PayPal Email Scam

How many times have you heard about it?  I got a PayPal official-looking email stating that some of my info seemed to be incomplete.  It looked so crisp and professional, even down to the copyright info at the bottom of the email page.

There was a link provided that took me to a PayPal  login page.  On this page was a form for me to completely fill in all of my info, as if I was applying for an account with PayPal.  Since PP had never required me to update my info by providing me with a completely blank form, I recognized it as a possible scam.

I closed the webpage, reported the email to Microsoft as a phishing scam, logged into my PP account, where there was no request to update my account, and certainly not by completing completely blank form fields.

I have a fail-safe in place for avoiding these PP scams, but this time I wasn’t quite alert.  What did I do wrong?

  1. I clicked on a link in the email.
  2. I signed in to my account at the webpage to which I was sent.

Luckily for me, I realized my mistake when I saw the completely blank form fields.  I immediately logged into my account and changed my password.  I’ve already scheduled myself to change it every few months.  I also change my 14-character email passwords every few months like clockwork.

My fail-safe against PayPal scams, which I won’t share here, is still in place and effective.  I got thrown off a bit because of changes I recently made to my PP account.  And I just wasn’t paying attention too, which is how we process our emails sometimes.  Robotic-like.

Be careful.  Take care.  Happy self-marketing.

gingkobannersignature

Comment?

