Be A Stop On The Circuit, Use A Link Tool

Dana Moos

I found myself at Perfectly Provident’s Make Your Own Mixes post, and surprised at how I got there.  It was through following link tools posted on blogs.  Did I leave comments along the way?  Not this time, but my quick visits are worth something to the blog owners who count those things….

My journey went like this:  I visited Ardith Goodwin through Art Blog Hop.  After looking at a couple of Ardith’s blogs, I chose to follow a regular blog link (not a link TOOL link) to Creative Everyday.  I saw Leah’s use of a link list at the end of some of her blog posts, and clicked on the link host  to learn more.

That led me to do a Google search for the host, where I found Tip Junkie in the search results, writing about the link host.  Here Laurie talks about what lead her to start using the link tool, giving credit to inspiration from Rocks In My Dryer, who uses it all the time.

Out of Shannon’s 277 non-thumbnail  links at the end of a post at RIMD, one actually caught my eye: Make Your Own Mixes.  It happened so fast that I don’t even know what link it was in the list.  I went back to find it and it took too much scanning to try.  I was at Polly’s site before I knew it, reviewing her simple dry mix recipes, and agreeing with one commentor that they would make great Christmas gifts.

The moral: Don’t downplay the usefulness of a simple link list.  Though I didn’t use a link tool connection for every lap of my travel, it was link tools that began my journey and ended it, increasing the visit count for every site along the way.

3 responses to “Be A Stop On The Circuit, Use A Link Tool

  1. Share that you consider following back all followers. While obtaining links is the ultimate goal, exchanging links with some sites may not be beneficial to your business image. Another consideration, if you are connected to sites that are not within your interest field, will you ever visit and comment there? Do you have time to visit and comment at the sites that are within your interest group? How will you ever visit the ones that are not? Link carefully.

  2. Don't spend too much time hosting and joining linkys, link parties and blog parties. Choose them carefully. Many participants don't visit the sites of others or take time to comment. You want to be sure that your time is well spent, resulting in a few good, lasting connections and an elevated visitor count.

  3. One option is to set up a static blog party and allow it to grow over an extended period of time, as Mary C. Nasser did: http://www.marycnasser.com/art-blog-hop.html.

Comment?

